Calico is an old West mining town that has been around since 1881. This was the largest silver strike in California. Calico has 500 mines and produced over 20 million in silver in a 12-year span. The town had three hotels, five genera stores, a meat market, bars, brothels and three restaurants and boarding houses.
The town also had a deputy, 2 lawyers, 2 constables, 2 doctors and a justice of the peace. Local Bad men were buried in the Boot Hill cemetery. In 1890 there were 3500 people with China, England, Ireland, Greece, France and the Netherlands all living together with Americans. In 1896 the silver mines were no longer producing and by 1907 the town was completely abandoned.
Fun Fact: Ghost Facts:
Lil’s Saloon, the town office the former home of Lucy Lane are original buildings. Calico Cemetery has 96 to 130 Graves. You can experience Maggie mine, where reports of seeing miners are numerous.
Walter Knott purchased Calico in the 1950's architecturally restoring all but the five original buildings to look as they did in the 1880's.
Calico has over 500 mines and over the course of a 12 year span, it produced over $20 million dollars in silver ore.